Aggravated Sexual Assault
According to Tennessee Code Annotated Section 39-13-502, a sexual assault is considered to be aggravated if the defendant was armed with a weapon, caused bodily injuries to the victim, or was helped by another person while committing the act.
Penalties: Aggravated rape is considered a Class A felony, punishable by 15 to 60 years in jail and a maximum fine of $50,000.
Sexual Assault with A Minor (Rape of a Child)
Under Tennessee Code Section 39-13-522, the rape of a child is unlawful sexual penetration of a victim who is over three years but less than 13 years old by a defendant.
Penalties: This is a Class A felony, punishable by between 15 and 60 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000.
Aggravated Sexual Battery
According to Tennessee Code Section 39-13-504, aggravated sexual battery is unlawful sexual contact with a victim by the defendant accompanied by any of the following circumstances:
- Force or coercion is used to accomplish the act while the defendant was armed with a weapon
- The defendant caused bodily injury to the victim
- The defendant was aided by at least one person
- The defendant knew that the victim was mentally incapacitated, mentally defective, or physically helpless
Penalties: Aggravated sexual battery is considered a Class B felony punishable by eight to 30 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
Aggravated Sexual Exploitation of a Minor
Under Tennessee Code Section 39-17-1004, it is unlawful for a person to knowingly promote, sell, distribute, transport, purchase or exchange material, or possess with the intent to promote, sell, distribute, transport, purchase, or exchange material, that includes a minor engaged in sexual activity or simulated sexual activity that is patently offensive.
Penalties: Depending on the surrounding circumstances, the offense may be charged as a Class B felony or Class C felony. Class B felony is punishable by eight to 30 years in prison and a maximum fine of $25,000. Class C felony is punishable by three to 15 years and fines of up to $10,000.
Consent as Defined Under Tennessee Law
Under Tennessee law, "consent" can is an agreement between two persons to engage in sexual activity. In Tennessee, the age of consent is 18 years. This means that only persons who are 18 or older can consent to sex with an adult, irrespective of circumstance. Any sexual activity without consent may be considered rape or sexual assault.
How a Skilled Attorney Can Help
Facing sex crimes allegations could mean devastating ramifications to your reputation, liberty, or personal and professional future. If convicted, you could be facing substantial fines, prison sentences, mandatory sex offender registration, and other social consequences. If you've been arrested and charged with a sex crime, retaining a highly skilled and aggressive criminal defense attorney is paramount to help strategize your best defense.
At the Law Offices of Fisher Wise, I am committed to providing knowledgeable legal guidance and comprehensive representation to individuals in criminal matters, including rape and sexual assault. As your attorney, I will evaluate every detail of your circumstances, carry out an in-depth, private investigation, and determine your best defense strategy to pursue a favorable outcome in your case. Using my extensive experience, I will help you navigate the Tennessee criminal justice system and do everything within my capacity to protect your rights and freedom.